Terms of UseOnline StoreSitemapSearch
Featured Article:
Archives of Past Articles

Cooper River Bridge Run Column - March 7, 2005
Take a Break from Training with the Bridge Run Quiz

By Art Liberman

Many coaches recognize the importance of scheduling “easy” or “recovery” periods within a training program about every four weeks when both the amount and intensity of mileage is reduced. Doing so keeps injury risks low while providing a mental break from hard training.

With just 26 days remaining before the Bridge Run, now is a great time to shift gears from the training information provided in this column and do something different. Let’s play Bridge Run Trivia, a chance to test your knowledge about the history of this great race. Enjoy and good luck!

1. The entry fee for the first race (t-shirt included in the cost) was:
a. $3.00, b. $4.00, c. $5.00, d. $6.00

2. The idea for the race was inspired by:
a. Atlanta’s Peachtree 10K Road Race, b. President’s Council on Physical Fitness, c. New York City Marathon, d. a running track constructed by an Ohio-based company to encourage their employees to exercise

3. The year Kenyans first ran the race:
a. 1978, b. 1984, c. 1992, d. 1993

4. The Marcus Newberry Award has been presented annually to recognize:
a. first place overall men’s and women’s winners, b. an individual who has made a significant contribution to the race over the years, c. first male and female finisher from the Tri-County area, d. top sponsor

5. Which of the following locations has NEVER been used for the finish line of the race:
a. George Street by the College of Charleston, b. Meeting Street by the Federal Building, c. Meeting Street by The Battery’s White Point Gardens, d. Hazel Parker Playground by East Bay Street

6. The number of different course routes used for the race:
a. 5, b. 7, c. 9, d. 10

7. First Tri-County resident to win either the male or female overall division:
a. Marc Embler, b. Marty Long, c. Bob Schlau, d. Sallie Driggers

8. The person who spearheaded legislative efforts to allow the use of the Grace and Pearman Bridges for the race:
a. Fritz Hollings, b. Strom Thurmond, c. Dewey Wise, d. Joe Riley

9. The only three-time race winner:
a. Catherine Ndereba, b. Tom Nyariki, c. Elana Meyer, d. James Koskei

10. The first year the Silas Pearman Bridge was used for the race:
a. 1978, b. 1979, c. 1986, d. 1995

11. Who of the following HAS NOT run the race:
a. Bill Murray, b. Denise Austin, c. Oprah Winfrey, d. Frank Shorter

12. The course record for the race:
a. 27: 35, b. 27:40, c. 27:48, d. 27:51

13. Age of the oldest woman to win an age-group award the first year of the race:
a. 49, b. 53, c. 57, d. 62

14. Which of the following NEVER OCCURRED related to the race:
a. Men’s overall winner is disqualified for using a banned performance enhancing drug, b. there is a tie for first place in the men’s overall division, c. traffic accident delays the start of the race by 30 minutes, d. cannon is fired while 50 – 100 runners are still warming up in front of starting line

15. The last American to win the race:
a. Jeff Cannada, b. Jill Hunter, c. Ashley Johnson, d. Laura LaMena-Coll

16. The year the race was first televised live:
a. 1983, b. 1986, c. 1987, d. 1988

17. The largest number of race finishers:
a. 13,674, b. 14, 264, c. 14,806, d. 15,184

18. The total prize purse in 1984, the first year money was awarded to the race’s top finishers:
a. $1000.00, b. $2500.00, c. $3000.00, d. $5000.00

19. The only men’s overall winner from the Tri-County area:
a. Bob Schlau, b. Terry Hamlin, c. Mark Friedrich, d. Marc Embler

20. Which of the following Bridge Run female overall winners HAS NOT won an Olympic Silver Medal:
a. Grete Waitz, b. Elaine Van Blunk, c. Catherine Ndereba, d. Elana Meyer

Answer Key
1-a, 2-d, 3-a, 4-c, 5-d, 6-c, 7-b, 8-c, 9-a, 10-a, 11-b, 12-b, 13-c, 14-a, 15-d, 16-b, 17-d, 18-c, 19-d, 20-b


2. The founder of the Bridge Run, Dr. Marcus Newberry, got the idea for the race while visiting relatives in Ohio. He was impressed that the Bonnie Bell Cosmetics Firm built a track to encourage their employees to stay fit.
3. Two Baptist College (now Charleston Southern University) track and field athletes from Kenya finished second and third respectively – Francis Ruchugo (31:34) and Anderson Obare (31:44)
4. Award started in 1986
7. Marty Long, female winner from Summerville in 40:10
8. State Senator Dewey Wise sponsored and pushed through the legislation to allow the use of the Silas Pearman Bridge for the 1978 race and again in 1979, for the use of the Grace Bridge.
9. Kenya’s Catherine Ndereba is also the race’s only 3-time consecutive winner (2000 – 2002). The following runners won their respective overall divisions two consecutive times: David Branch (1983-84), Ashley Johnson (1988-89), Elana Meyer (1997-98) and James Koskei (2000-01).
10. Used 1978-79, and from 1995 – 2005
12. Kenya’s James Koskei in 2000
13. Folly Beach’s Margaret Wright
14. In 1980, Alleghaney Track Club teammates Kim Burke and Steve Littleton decide to tie in 31:26
15. from Eugene, OR in 1995 with time of 33:58
16. by WCSC – Channel 5
17. in 2004
19. in 1981
20. Grete Waitz – 1984 Los Angeles in marathon, Catherine Ndereba - 2004 Athens in marathon, and Elana Meyer – 1992 Barcelona in 10,000 meters

Do you have an article or personal story that you would like to submit to appear within State of the Art Marathon Training? Doing so is easy: submit your article!

Everything Running book now available!

Team ACS

Want your advertisement here? Click for info!

| Home | Marathon Training | Personal Training | FAQs | Running Links |
| Featured Article | Latest News | About this Site | Contact |

© 1997 - 2014 by Art Liberman - All Rights Reserved
NOTE: The material presented in this website may not be copied/reproduced (in whole or in part) or distributed (in any manner) without the expressed written consent of Art Liberman. Users of this website are bound by our Terms of Use.